The planned Line 1 Yonge Subway Extension is a cross-jurisdictional project from the City of Toronto into the City of Markham, City of Vaughan and the Town of Richmond Hill.

This project would extend the subway line 7.4 kilometres north from Finch Station in Toronto to the Richmond Hill/Langstaff Gateway Urban Growth Centre at Highway 7.

This project includes five stations at Cummer/Drewry, Steeles, Clark, Langstaff/Longbridge and Richmond Hill Centre. It will also include two intermodal terminals (at Steeles and Richmond Hill Centre Station) and 2,000 commuter parking spaces near Langstaff/Longbridge Station.

For more information on this project, visit the project page.

Background Information

With the announcement on September 26, 2008 of the draft Metrolinx Regional Transportation Plan, extension of the Yonge Subway line north from Finch Station to Richmond Hill Centre/Highway 7 in York Region emerged as one of the top 15 priorities for early implementation within the first 15 years of the plan.

Toronto City Council approved the TTC/City of Toronto as co-proponents of the project at its meeting of October 29 and 30, 2008.

This project will provide a reduction in traffic on Yonge Street, resulting in reductions in noise, emissions and environmental impacts while providing a reduction in travel time and more reliable transit service.


The Commission, at its meeting of December 17, 2008, considered a report entitled "Yonge Subway Extension - Final Report on Transit Project Assessment Process and Future Actions PDF Icon" - this presentation was provided at that meeting.