Click here to view a PDF version of this page PDF file

Meeting No. 1893
Thursday, February 14, 2008
3:00 PM

Council Chamber
Toronto City Hall
100 Queen Street West

A special meeting of the Toronto Transit Commission was held in the Council Chamber, Toronto City Hall, 100 Queen Street West, Toronto, Ontario on Thursday, February 14, 2008 commencing at 3:05 p.m.

A. Giambrone (Chair), J. Mihevc (Vice-Chair), B. Saundercook, G. De Baeremaeker, S. Bussin and A. Perruzza (Commissioners), G. Webster (Chief General Manager), R. Cornacchia (General Manager – Operations), J. Sepulis (General Manager – Engineering & Construction), B. Leck (General Counsel), A. Smith (Chief Marketing Officer), M. Anders (Marketing Research Director), W. Buffett (Assistant General Secretary) and F. Stanois (Coordinator – Secretariat Services) were  present.

A. Giambrone was in the Chair.

Declaration of Interest - Municipal Conflict of Interest

Chair Giambrone moved that the Commission waive section 13a of its procedural by-law in order that public presentations could be made by those individuals who did not meet the registration deadline of 12:00 noon the day prior to the meeting.

The motion by Chair Giambrone carried.

Minutes of the Previous Meetings

Business Arising Out of Minutes

Committee of the Whole Resolution


Public Presentations

a) Revisions to U-Pass Policy Framework

 Nora Loreto
 Ryerson Students Union

 Chris Drew
 Vice-President of Finance and Services
 Ryerson Students Union, Local 24
 Canadian Federation of Students

 Paul Brown
 Commissioner of Academic Issues
 Student Association of George Brown College

 David Scrivener
 University of Toronto, St. Georges Campus

 The Commission received the deputations.

Notice of Motions


Motions Without Notice


Items of Which Notice has Previously Been Given


Items Deferred From Last Meeting to Permit Debate/Public Presentation


  1. Reports with Confidential Attachments (Committee of the Whole)
  2. NIL
  3. Presentations
  4. NIL
  5. Budget Matters
  6. NIL
  7. Procurement Authorizations
  8. NIL
  9. Procurement Authorization Amendments
  10. NIL
  11. Notice of Awards
  12. NIL
  13. Service Matters
  14. NIL
  15. Other Business
  16. 1. Revisions to U-Pass Policy Framework

    M. Anders, Marketing Research Director gave an overhead slide presentation entitled, “U-Pass Briefing to TTC Commission” dated February 14, 2008.

    The Commission received the presentation.

    Chair Giambrone moved that the Commission approve the staff recommendations embodied in the report, as listed below:

    “It is recommended that the Commission consider on a case-by-case basis the merits and impacts of exceptions proposed by post-secondary institutions to the approved U-Pass policy framework.  It is further recommended that based on the estimated financial impacts, that the Commission approve the exceptions to the current U-Pass policy framework proposed by the University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC), and negotiations continue within the revised policy framework.”

    Chair Giambrone moved the following ancillary motions:

    1. Staff, the Chair and Vice-Chair continue negotiations specifically with University of Toronto Scarborough (UTSC) with the objective of holding a referendum in March 2008 and implementing the U-Pass program in September 2008 under the following terms and conditions:

    A) Mandatory participation by all full-time and part-time students at UTSC with no opt-outs;

    B) Monthly price is held at $60 until may 2010;

    C) U-Pass is semester based and is offered for 3 semesters per year;

    D) U-Pass is a non-transferable pass containing a photo;

    E) An agreement is reached with UTSC on the sharing of incremental production costs associated with offering the U-Pass on a semester basis;

    F) Access is provided to commuter parking lots on the same basis as regular Metropass users; and

    G) The TTC will conduct regular rider counts on routes serving UTSC and regularly adjust service levels on those routes within a reasonable time to meet demand, as determined by TTC loading standards.

    2. the Chair, Vice-Chair and staff continue discussions with GO Transit and York Region Transit (YRT) with the objective of finalizing their participation in the U-Pass program, recognizing that both organizations have now agreed, in principle, to offer service in the U-Pass program based on approval at the staff level, noting that the participation of GO Transit will be limited to full-time students.

    3. Staff be directed to continue working with Durham Region Transit with the objective of providing improved service to UTSC which could include better integration of service between the transit properties or the provision of additional service.

    4. Staff be directed to finalize the draft Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) with UTSC as soon as is possible, with this document setting out the key terms and conditions of the U-Pass agreement with UTSC.

    5. Any institution that successfully passes a referendum prior to the end of 2008 will have the monthly price held at $60 until May 2010.
    The motions by Chair Giambrone carried.

    The meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m. 

  17. New Business
  18. NIL
  19. Correspondence
  20. NIL

    TTC Board Members

    Chair Adam Giambrone
    Vice-Chair Joe Mihevc
    Commissioner Sandra Bussin
    Commissioner Glenn De Baeremaeker
    Commissioner Suzan Hall
    Commissioner Peter Milczyn
    Commissioner Anthony Perruzza
    Commissioner Bill Saundercook
    Commissioner Michael Thompson