De Baeremaeker named TTC Vice-Chair

TTC Chair Karen Stintz officially announced Ward 38 Scarborough Centre Councillor Glenn De Baeremaeker as the new Vice-Chair of the TTC. He replaces Ward 5 Etobicoke-Lakeshore Councillor Peter Milczyn, who stays on as a Commissioner. De Baeremaeker will serve in the position until a new Vice-Chair is appointed from the four citizen representatives who are scheduled to join the Commission in October.

The other Commissioners are: Maria Augimeri (Ward 9 York Centre), John Parker (Ward 26 Don Valley West), Raymond Cho (Ward 42 Scarborough-Rouge River) and Josh Colle (Ward 15 Eglinton-Lawrence).

Commissioners also appointed members to the TTC Audit Committee: Parker (as Chair), Milczyn and De Baeremaeker.

Byford confirmed as CEO, Dixon introduced as COO

The Commission approved the appointment of Andy Byford as the TTC’s Chief Executive Officer. TTC Chair Karen Stintz also introduced Dave Dixon as the TTC’s new Chief Operating Officer. Dixon, formerly Operations General Manager, was acting as COO since February.

Byford introduces new-look CEO Report

TTC CEO Andy Byford introduced his first Chief Executive Officer’s Report to the Commission. The newly styled document provides a corporate-level focus on the TTC’s Key Performance Indicators and their respective targets. The report is reflective of the new CEO’s drive to modernize the look and feel of the TTC, and increase the visibility and transparency of overall system performance.

Commission welcomes Customer Liaison Panellists

Commissioners welcomed the newly assembled members of the Customer Liaison Panel. The panellists, all TTC customers, are: Peter Ashton, Eric Augustin, Luis Calhau, Justin Kozuch, Niru Kumar, Eric Martin, Wayne McEachern, Kathleen McGinnis, Howard Muchnick, Adrian Ryans and Linda Wild. The CLP was established to provide a mechanism for ongoing customer participation and feedback on transit in Toronto. The group of 11 was selected from more than 250 applications, and will serve for two years.

Contract award for subway signal system

Commissioners approved the award of contracts worth a total of $56.9 million to Ansaldo STS Canada Inc. for the design and supply of a signal system on the Yonge-University-Spadina Subway (Phases 2 to 4) and the Toronto-York Spadina Subway Extension. The TYSSE contract also has a provision for the installation of this equipment. Combined with the Automatic Train Control system already being supplied by Alstom, the state-of-the-art re-signalling system will allow trains to travel closer together in order to safely increase carrying capacity and train movement flexibility. The TTC approved a further $3.2 million for computer based interlocking on an engineering test track at Wilson Yard to support design and installation work.

Signal replacement is currently underway between Lawrence and St Andrew Stations. Phase 2 is beginning between St Patrick and Eglinton West Stations. Phase 3 is between Eglinton West and Downsview Stations. Phase 4 is Lawrence to Finch Stations.

Bus service to new George Brown Campus

Commissioners approved bus route changes on a trial basis to serve the new George Brown Waterfront Campus, which opens this summer. The new campus is located south of Queens Quay East at Sherbourne Street. Starting on July 29, service will be increased on the 6 Bay and 75 Sherbourne bus routes. TTC staff will also evaluate a possible extension of the 65 Parliament bus route.