Click here to view a PDF version of this page PDF file

Meeting No. 1972
Wednesday, May 14, 2014
1:00 PM

7th Floor Board Room
1900 Yonge Street

An emergency meeting of the TTC Board was held in the 7th Floor Boardroom, TTC Head Office, 1900 Yonge Street, on Wednesday, May 14, 2014 commencing at 1:15 p.m. The meeting recessed at 1:17 p.m. and reconvened at 2:08 p.m.

M. Augimeri (Chair), M. Adamson (Vice-Chair), R. Cho, J. Colle, N. Di Donato, A. Heisey and K. Stintz (Members), A. Byford (Chief Executive Officer), S. Ghaly (Chief Capital Officer), G. Shortt (Chief Operating Officer), C. Upfold (Deputy CEO & Chief Customer Officer), V. Rodo (Chief Financial & Administration Officer), G. Piemontese (Chief People Officer), B. Ross (Executive Director of Corporate Communications), J. Taylor (Chief of Staff), B. Leck (Head of Legal & General Counsel), M. MacRae (Director – Employee Relations), K. Lee (Head of Commission Services) and D. McDonald (Co-ordinator – Corporate Secretariat Services) were present.

M. Augimeri was in the Chair.

Declaration of Interest - Municipal Conflict of Interest

Minutes of the Previous Meetings

Business Arising Out of Minutes

Committee of the Whole Resolution

Commissioner Colle moved that the Board recess to meet as the Committee of the Whole to deal with litigation or potential litigation matters, labour relations, employee negotiations, or to receive advice which is subject to solicitor-client privilege.

The motion by Commissioner Colle carried.

M. Augimeri (Chair), M. Adamson (Vice-Chair), R. Cho, J. Colle, N. Di Donato, A. Heisey and K. Stintz (Members) were present for the in-camera session.


Meeting (re-opened to the public) – 2:08 p.m.

Public Presentations


Notice of Motions


Motions Without Notice


Items of Which Notice has Previously Been Given


Items Deferred From Last Meeting to Permit Debate/Public Presentation


  1. Reports with Confidential Attachments (Committee of the Whole)
  2. a) Collective Agreements Contract Ratification

    It is recommended that the Board:

    1. Ratify the four collective agreements that TTC staff have successfully negotiated with its unions which are within the mandate given by the Labour Relations Sub-Committee;

    2. Approve the recommendations as set out in the Confidential Attachment; and

    3. That the recommendations set out in the Confidential Attachment remain confidential until such time that the Amalgamated Transit Union, Local 113 ratifies the new collective bargaining agreement.


  3. Presentations
  4. NIL
  5. Budget Matters
  6. NIL
  7. Procurement Authorizations
  8. NIL
  9. Procurement Authorization Amendments
  10. NIL
  11. Notice of Awards
  12. NIL
  13. Service Matters
  14. NIL
  15. Other Business
  16. NIL
  17. New Business
  18. NIL
  19. Correspondence
  20. NIL

    The meeting adjourned at 2:10 p.m.

    TTC Board Members

    Maria Augimeri (Chair), Maureen Adamson (Vice- Chair), Raymond Cho, Josh Colle, Glenn De Baeremaeker, Nick Di Donato, Alan Heisey, Peter Milczyn, John Parker, Karen Stintz, Anju Virmani